Founded in 1925, the National Bar Association (NBA) is the nation's oldest and largest association of African American lawyers and judges.
NBA Honors
C. Francis Stradford Award
The C. Francis Stradford Award, named after a founding member and past president of the National Bar Association is the highest award given by Association. The award is given to a member whose leadership,  integrity, legal skills and devotion to duty has been an inspiration to his colleagues and contributed richly to the legal profession.
Equal Justice Award
The Equal Justice Award is presented to a member of the Association whose contributions to and quest for equal justice have added substance to the guarantee embodied in the United States Constitution.
Ronald Harmon Brown Award of International Excellence
The Ronald Harmon Brown Award is presented to a National Bar Association member “for endeavoring to strengthen the relationship of opportunity and the experiences of mutual development across sovereign borders.”
Sankofa Award
The Sankofa Award is presented during the Annual Convention Opening Session. The Sankofa represents the old African adage “Always remember the past for therein lies the future.” Sankofa is represented by a mythical bird perched upon a pyramid structure. Whenever a figure is placed upon a pyramid it implies that this is a symbol of a great importance. The Sankofa has its feet firmly planted forward but its head is always turned backward-facing the past, thus, representing that one must return to the past in order to move forward. The egg nestled in the bird’s mouth represents the future.
Corporate Challenge Award
Barack Obama Political Leadership Award
Past Recipient: Honorable Turbert Baker, Attorney General, State of Georgia, Atlanta, GA (2009)
A. Leon Higginbotham Award
Vince Monroe Townsend, Jr. Legends Award
The Vince Monroe Townsend, Jr. Legends Award is presented to an individual who has exhibited historical and continued leadership in the civil rights movement.  This award is presented during the Annual Convention during the Presidential Showcase seminar.
Hall of Fame
The Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 1986 by then President Fred D. Gray, Sr., to honor those lawyers who have been licensed to practice for forty years or more and who have made significant contributions of the cause of justice. The induction ceremony is held during the NBA Annual Convention and is an opportunity “to pause and honor those whose courage, intellectual accomplishments, professional achievements and community contributions deserve the highest recognition.” See full description and previous winners.
Gertrude E. Rush Award
Under the leadership of the 39th NBA President, Arnette R. Hubbard, the National Bar Association designated its Mid-Year Conference Dinner as the Gertrude E. Rush Award Dinner in honor of the only woman co-founder of the National Bar Association. The Rush Award stands as an award of merit expressive of the spirit and commitment of Gertrude E. Rush in particular and the founders in general.
The Rush Award standards demand that the recipient should:

Manifest the pioneering spirit epitomized by Gertrude E. Rush;

Demonstrate leadership in the community and his or her profession;

Demonstrate concern for human and civil rights; and

Be a model for excellence in legal education and perserverance in the law, public policy and social activism.

Any person who meets the above qualifications without regard to race, color, creed, sex, religion, or national origin, whether a lawyer or non-lawyer may qualify as a recipient of the Gertrude E. Rush Award.
Heman Marion Sweatt Award
Wiley A. Branton Award
The Wiley A. Branton Award is presented  “to a person or person(s) demonstrating or have demonstrated leadership on the cutting edge of law for civil, social and economic justice.”


1225 11th Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 842-3900 Phone - (202) 289-6170 FAX
php script encode google sıra bulucu kanun pagerank sorgulama seo ukash haber seo seo ukash google pagerank sorgulama